Index - Department of Physics,Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

About Us

The Department of Physics from its modest beginning in 1960 has now grown in to an active center of quality teaching and research. Today it stands as one of the leading departments in the country, well known for its excellence in teaching and research. The Department runs five year integrated M.Sc. (Physics), and two year M.Sc. (Physics) programs apart from catering the teaching of core Physics courses to undergraduate engineering students. Engineering Physics B.Tech Program has also started in 2015.

The Department also has M.Tech. (Photonics) and M. Tech. (Solid State Electronic Materials) program.

The faculties of the Department are actively engaged in different areas of research viz. Atmospheric and Space Physics, Atomic and Molecular Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Nuclear Physics, Optics and Theoretical High Energy Physics.

The Department organizes national and international conferences from time to time. The research activity in the department is well recognized by CSIR, AICTE, DST and ISRO and a number of research projects funded by these agencies are always in progress in the department.

Major Specializations

Recent Highlights

  • Accelerator Physics
  • Atmospheric and Space Physics
  • Atomic and Molecular Physics
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Fiber Optics & Photonics
  • High Energy Physics
  • Laser Physics
  • Nuclear Physics
  • Smart Materials
  • Nanotechnology


highlights.gif (2.10 MB)



# # # # # | # # #
Credits : Information Management Group, IIT Roorkee
Copyright © , All Rights Reserved, Institute Computer Centre, IIT Roorkee.